Meet the MAC

The Wesley Hospital Medical Advisory Committee (MAC) represents the hospital’s community of Visiting Medical Practitioners and plays a critical role in advising and assisting the General Manager of the hospital.

Among a range of responsibilities, the Committee meets monthly to advise on the provision of safe, high-quality clinical services, practitioner credentialling, and to participate in planning, development and implementation of clinical programs at the Wesley. In addition, the MAC promotes clinical education and research at the hospital and assists in identifying the future health needs of our community.

A General Practitioner (GP) also sits on the MAC, maintaining the essential link between our network of GPs and The Wesley Hospital.

Wesley Medical Advisory Committee Members

Associate Professor Troy Gianduzzo
Medical Advisory Committee Chair
Associate Professor John Allan
Chief Academic Medical Officer, Uniting Care Clinical School
Dr Paul Bartley
Infectious Diseases
Dr Elizabeth Boge
Dr Wilbur Chan
Pain Medicine and Rehabilitation
Ms Cheryl Clayton
Director of Clinical Services, The Wesley Hospital
Associate Professor Paul Eliadis AM
Haemotology and Oncology
Dr Simon Gatehouse
Director of Medical Services, The Wesley Hospital
Mr Sean Hubbard
General Manager, The Wesley Hospital
Dr Pauline Joubert
Dr Kylie Johnson
General Medicine
Professor Glynn Kelly
General Practice
Dr Phillip Melksham
Professor James Nicklin
Dr Nicholas O’Rourke
General Surgery
Dr Stacey O’Shea
Renal Medicine
Professor Gregory Scalia
Professor Bala Venkatesh
Intensive Care
Dr Duncan Walker
Professor David Walker
Dr Mark Woodrow
Emergency Medicine

Past Chairs of the Wesley Medical Advisory Committee

The past Chairs of the hospital’s Medical Advisory Committee (MAC) are recognised on an honour board listing their names and years of service. The board is on display on Level 2 of the main hospital building, near the photo wall of current MAC members.

The Wesley Hospital Medical Advisory Committee Chairs past and present

Sir Evan Thomson
1976 - 1984
Dr Maurice Williams
1984 - 1985
Dr Jon Douglas
1986 – 1987
Dr Ross Phillipson
1988 - 1989
Dr Brian Smith
1990 - 1991
Dr John Healy
1992 - 1993
Dr Ian Dickinson
1993 – 1995
Dr Geoffrey Beadle
1996 – 1997
Dr Geoffrey Holt
1998 – 1999
Dr Alan Porter
1999 – 2001
Dr David Schlect
2002 – 2003
Dr Noel Saines
2004 – 2006
Dr Andrew Pascoe
2007 – 2010
Dr Melissa Buttini
2011 – 2014
Prof Gregory Scalia
2014 - 2018
A/Prof Troy Gianduzzo
2018 - present
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.