Senior Wesley doctors recognised at awards dinner

02 November 2015
Medical Advisory Comittee honour boardThe Wesley Hospital has recognised the outstanding contribution from senior doctors at the second Visiting Medical Practitioner Awards dinner held on October 10 at Gambaro Restaurant. 

 Wesley Director of Medical Services Dr Luis Prado said the hospital was extremely proud of the medical expertise, dedication and care provided by its senior VMPs.

 "This is the second such awards event we have had this year and is a way of showing our appreciation to the exceptional Visiting Medical Professionals, covering a wide range of specialties, who work at our hospital to provide the very best outcomes for our patients," he said.

 Receiving Senior VMP status at the event were: Dr Noel Saines; Dr Gerald Whiting; Dr Roderick Roberts; Dr James Bradley; Dr Robert Edwards; Dr Maurice Heiner; Dr John Arvier; Dr Andrew Jenkins; Dr James O’Keefe; Prof Paul Kerlin; Dr William Cockburn; Dr David Schlect; Dr John Bashford; Dr John Lumley and Dr Maxeen Devenport.

 The past chairs of the hospital’s Medical Advisory Committee, known as the MAC, were also recognised and an honour board unveiled listing their names and years of service.

 The board is on display in level 2 of the main hospital building near the photo wall of current MAC members.


 Sir Evan Thomson            1976 - 1984

Dr Maurice Williams        1984 - 1985

Dr Jon Douglas  1986 – 1987

Dr Ross Phillipson             1988 - 1989

Dr Brian Smith   1990 - 1991

Dr John Healy    1992 - 1993

Dr Ian Dickinson                1993 – 1995

Dr Geoffrey Beadle         1996 – 1997

Dr Geoffrey Holt              1998 – 1999

Dr Alan Porter   1999 – 2001

Dr David Schlect                2002 – 2003

Dr Noel Saines   2004 – 2006

Dr Andrew Pascoe           2007 – 2010

Dr Melissa Buttini             2011 – 2014

Dr Gregory Scalia              2014 - present

Media Enquiries
Urgent or after hours: 0437 344 216

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.