UCH Executive Director on National eHealth Committee

12 October 2015

Richard-Royle-C-702x336The My Health Record system is part of a $485 million package to strengthen and transform national digital health governance through the Australian Commission for eHealth.

Health Minister Sussan Ley said a functioning national electronic medical records system was essential to ensure doctors, nurses and pharmacists across the country had instant access to the information needed to treat patients safely and efficiently without having to “gamble on unknowns” in their medical history.

 “As patients, we’ve all been in the situations where we’ve had to attend another GP surgery because we were out of town or couldn’t get an appointment with our regular doctor. It can be a time consuming and often frustrating experience for patients and doctors alike,” Ms Ley said.

Mr Royle, who is also president of the Australian Private Hospitals Association (APHA), has been elected on the Implementation Taskforce Steering Committee to represent the private health sector.

He brings a wealth of knowledge to the committee, having overseen the development of Australia’s first fully integrated digital hospital, St Stephen’s Hospital, in Hervey Bay.

The committee, chaired by Ms Robyn Kruk, will oversee the transition of the My Health Record system from the Department of Health and the National e-Health Transition Authority to the Australian Commission for eHealth.

Ms Kruk and Mr Royle will be assisted by the skills and expertise of Dr Steve Hambleton, Dr Ewen McPhee, Dr Chris Pearce, Dr Eileen Doyle, Ms Jan Donovan, Mr Peter Cooper, Mr Mike Walsh, Mr Stephen Moo and Mr Paul Madden.

Media Enquiries
General: wesley.media@uchealth.com.au
Urgent or after hours: 0412 674 013

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.